Senior citizens who are sixty (60) years of age or older and meet Florida residency requirements for tuition are eligible for a Tuition Fee Waiver.
Courses waived by the Senior Citizen Tuition Fee Waiver are NOT eligible for a degree as the waiver can only be applied to courses taken on an audit basis (zero credit) only. If the course's Grade Mode is registered as something other than "Audit," the Office of the Registrar will update the grade mode to "Audit" at the time of form submittal.
Limitations for Senior Citizen Tuition Fee Waiver Program
- Students must be sixty (60) years old or older.
- Students must be classified as a Florida resident.
- Students may only request up to six (6) credit hours per semester.
- Withdrawals count as attempted hours for the semester.
- Students wishing to switch out courses during the second (2nd) or third (3rd) week of classes, students may submit a Request for Schedule Adjustment form to the Registrar's Office along with an updated Senior Citizen Tuition Fee Waiver form.
- Enrollment is first-come, first-served on a space-available basis. The Office of the Registrar cannot guarantee open seating into requested courses. According to Florida Statute 1009.26 (4), students paying full fees shall have priority over students with tuition and fees waived in all cases where classroom spaces are limited.
- Courses waived by the Senior Citizen Tuition Fee Waiver CANNOT be counted for credit or graded towards a degree (Audit Basis).
- Students are responsible for a $10 Nautilus Card Activation Fee and any fees not covered by the Senior Citizen Tuition Fee Waiver (Online Fee, Transportation Access Fee, Material & Supply Fee, Equipment Fee, and Lab Fee).
- Students must turn in the Senior Citizen Tuition Fee Waiver form during the course's first week of classes.
- The Senior Citizen Tuition Fee Waiver waives the $100 Late Registration Fee.
- If the Senior Citizen Tuition Fee Waiver is submitted after the course's first week of classes, a $100 Late Payment Fee may not be waived. For more information, please contact Student Accounts.
Please be Aware...
- Registration is based on a space-available basis at the University for a maximum of six (6) semester hours of tuition-free courses per semester. For policies that may affect your registration, please refer to the Academic Catalog.
- Students may register for courses only during the course's first week of classes.
- Students may visit Argo Central, Building 18, for additional help with registration.
- Students must submit a Non-Degree application. Current Non-Degree applications for various semesters can be found on the Undergraduate Admissions Non-Degree Application page.
- For additional information regarding admission status contact the Admissions Office at (850) 474-2230 or email@example.com.
- Students must provide documentation of vaccinations against meningococcal meningitis and hepatitis B or provide a signed waiver for each declined vaccination.
- Students wishing to decline this vaccine must read the CDC's Meningococcal Vaccine Information Statement, then check and sign where indicated on the Mandatory Immunization Health History Form. If you have any questions or for additional information, please visit the Student Health Services webpage or contact Student Health Services at (850) 474-2172 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Complete a Senior Citizen Tuition Fee Waiver form and include an email address as this is UWF's primary form of communication.
- Submit the completed form to the Office of the Registrar. Forms are accepted in person, via email at email@example.com or by fax at (850)473-7345.
- Students may register online during the senior citizen registration period (typically the first week of class of the semester you wish to register for) by accessing MyUWF and using the Registration app (please pay attention to which semester you select!).
- For assistance with registration, please visit uwf.edu/registration.
- Once the senior citizen registration period begins, the Office of the Registrar will review submitted forms for registration compliance and remove any late registration fees.
- Students may review their fee assessment online by accessing MyUWF and using the Fee Assessment app in the Financial Resources folder. Fees will be assessed with a balance due until compliance and eligibility have been approved and the fee waivers have been applied. The fee system generally updates during the week of drop/add.