

The University of West Florida Board of Trustees In Recognition & Profound Appreciation of Distinguished Service Senator Doug Broxson

WHEREAS, Senator Doug Broxson has diligently, and with dedication, served the citizens of Northwest Florida since 2010 as a Florida State Representative and Florida State Senator; and

WHEREAS, during his tenure, Senator Broxson has served in multiple chairmanship roles, representing Northwest Florida in House and Senate leadership; and

WHEREAS, Senator Broxson sponsored successful funding requests on behalf of the University of West Florida and supported the legislative requests of the university, and continually advocated for those requests as both a member of the House and Senate; and

WHEREAS, Senator Broxson sponsored a Senate Resolution commending the UWF football team on their historic National Championship title during the 2020 legislative session; and

WHEREAS, Senator Broxson supported the legislative priorities of the University of West Florida as Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee, while maintaining fairness and equitable allocations for the State University System; and

WHEREAS, Senator Broxson demonstrated funding support for multiple ongoing programs at the University of West Florida, including The Science and Engineering Research Wing, Utility infrastructure improvements, a new Civil Engineering program, and existing recurring programs; and

WHEREAS, Senator Broxson led in securing an historical increase in the University of West Florida's operational budget; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the University of West Florida Board of Trustees and President Martha Saunders, meeting this day, June 15, 2023, hereby recognizes and commends Senator Doug Broxson as a University of West Florida Legislative Champion due to his contributions to the university and the State of Florida;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this resolution is included in the minutes of this meeting and a copy thereof presented to Senator Broxson as a token of the Board's appreciation.

Suzanne Lewis Board of Trustees Chairs Martha D. Saunders President

