Minutes of April 18, 2002 Meeting of The Search Advisory Committee

The seventh and final meeting of the Search Advisory Committee for the University of West Florida presidential search was held on April 18, 2002 in the Conference Center lobby of the University Commons.

Co-Chairs: Dr. Linda Dye and Mr. Eric Nickelsen called the meeting to order at 8:00 AM.

1. Call to order

Eric Nickelsen and Linda Dye welcomed the committee and guests, making special note of the dedicated efforts of committee member Kathy Jeffcoat during her illness.

2. Roll Call

Thirty-three of the 38-committee members were present. Absent were Ken Ford, Rick Harper, John Mobley, Michael Papantonio, and Joe Scarborough. Guests included: Board of Trustee Chairman Collier Merrill, Trustees Roy Smith, Dr. Lornetta Epps, Angie Bowler, and General Charles Horner. Ms. Vicki Knaack was present as recording secretary.

3. Approval of minutes, April 2, 2002

Dr. Dye introduced minutes from the meeting held on April 2, 2002.

It was agreed to accept minutes, as they stand, no changes.

4. Discussion of candidates:

Eric Nickelsen opened the floor to questions and discussion of the five candidates interviewed this week. He did not have the background checks back, but the Lexis/Nexis review was available for committee members to see.

There was general positive discussion of the search process. The question arose whether any of the candidates were involved in other searches. Dr. Dye stated she understood all five candidates were in other searches. David Eisler contacted Dr. Dye by phone and wanted to be sure it was understood he was in other searches, he is a finalist in a search in Colorado and did not know their deadline. Loren Crabtree is involved in a search in Texas. Drs. Haskew and Skinner are involved in other searches but there are no specifics. John Cavanaugh has had an offer from East Illinois and reported he had to make a decision by Friday.

A committee member shared that he had talked to Cavanaugh the night before, clarifying he was not speaking for SAC, but that he was very impressed and asked about the offer. Dr. Cavanaugh indicated he did not have the offer until Sunday night and that he was given until Friday to respond.

There were questions of what would happen if SAC sends up three names and one or two drop off. Also questions about whether they must vote for three even if they only liked two.

Eric Nickelsen reiterated that it is the charge of this committee to give the Trustee Search Committee three candidates. The committee must vote for the best three people. The entire committee does not have to vote for three, they can vote for just two if that is all they recommend. But the original charge of sending three names to the Trustee Search Committee stands.

Several committee members indicated they appreciated being able to participate in this vote with the candidates' interviews fresh in their minds.

Dr. Dye told the committee members that while this was the completion of SAC's charge, the Trustee Search Committee wants SAC members to be involved in the final interviews. Some members may be asked to chair interview sessions.

All the candidates indicated they had never been before a thirty-eight-member search committee, but the process has worked.

Though this committee will not meet again formally, Eric and Linda will keep the members informed. The second round of finalist interviews take place the 2nd and 3rd week of May with May 24th the target to have a final decision.

Various comments included acknowledgement of the "open" process, while frustrating, it validates who is selected in the end. The finalist is bound to be someone who can readily deal with a variety of issues and constituents. It will be important to reiterate the search process was in the open - everyone was invited, notified and could have came - so everyone needs to remind the critics that is was an open process.

Dr. Dye states the committee members need to stand behind the finalists.

5. Voting

Dr. Dye instructs the committee to vote for no more that three in two rounds of voting. Becky Crawford, Keith Goldschmidt, and Kim Spear will hand out and tally the ballots. Julie Sheppard is here to confirm the vote for the sunshine law. There is to be no ranking - just check three names. Members do not have to vote for three if they don't want to, they can vote for less.

1st Round Vote: Narrows candidates to John Cavanaugh, Loren Crabtree, David Eisler, and Richard Skinner

Second round ballots are distributed. Committee members are instructed to vote for no more than three.

2nd Round Vote: Narrows candidates to John Cavanaugh, Loren Crabtree and David Eisler.

The names of the three finalists were presented to Board of Trustee Chairman Collier Merrill for presentation to the Trustee Search Committee.

Collier Merrill commended the Search Advisory Committee for a job well done. He stated this committee got the "cream of the crop" and gave a special thanks to Admiral Fetterman for representing the Navy on this committee.

Appreciation was again expressed to everyone for a job well done.

5. Other business

Dr. Dye asked if there were any other business. There was none indicated.

Meeting adjourned at 8:35 AM.