Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Overview


The article outlines how a user may switch between Blackboard Collaborate Classic (12.6) and Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.

Instructions

You may switch between Collaborate Classic and Ultra, depending on which format is better suited to your needs. However, sessions created in Classic are inaccessible through Ultra and vice versa. Therefore, it is important to know how to switch. The first time that a user accesses Blackboard Collaborate via the Collaborate Session Management app in MyUWF, the user will be prompted if they would like to keep using the Classic version of Collaborate or switch to Ultra. Clicking the button to switch will convert the view to Ultra. However, users may switch back to Classic at any time using the instructions below. 

Switching Back to Collaborate Classic

  1. Log into Blackboard Collaborate via the Collaborate Session Management app in MyUWF. 
  2. Locate the Gear icon. 
    • screenshot of gear icon
  3. Click on the Gear icon and choose the option to Switch back to Collaborate 12.6.
    • switch back to collaborate 12.6
  4. You will be prompted to confirm that you would like to switch. Click "Yes, switch back."
    • yes switch back button
  5. After confirming that you would like to switch, you will be taken back to the classic view of Blackboard Collaborate. 

Switching Back to Ultra from Classic

  1. When using Collaborate Classic, you will notice a banner across the top of the screen stating that a new browser-based version is available now. Click the orange link that states "Learn more."
    • learn more link
  2. On the next screen that appears, click "Switch to Collaborate Ultra."
    • switch collaborate ultra button
  3. You will now be back in Collaborate Ultra. 

FAQs

 Which version should I use?
ScenariosUse the Ultra ExperienceUse the Classic Experience
Office hours (for example: one-on-ones, student support, drop-ins)

checkmark

 
Lectures (up to 50 participants)

checkmark

 
Small group collaboration (up to 50 participants)

checkmark

 
Record sessions 

checkmark

Large scale webinars (up to 1000 participants) 

checkmark

Large group collaboration (up to 1000 participants) 

checkmark

Deep teaching and learning that uses lesson plan, polling, and so on. 

checkmark

Sessions that can be accessed from your Learning Management System (LMS). 

checkmark

 What are the known issues in Collaborate Ultra?
Known IssueStatus
Audio and Video Related
Once a camera is enabled it is never de-activated. For example, the camera light remains on. This does not mean that it is sending video. Video is only sent when the camera icon in Blackboard Collaborate is turned on.Open
There is no confirmation message after audio and video have been set up properly. There is nothing to signal users can proceed.Open
Content Sharing Related
In the whiteboard, the pointer (hand) icon is not visible when additional files are shared during file sharing.Open
When moderators stop sharing an application, whiteboard, or file the shared content still appears in the main screen instead of showing the remote video of the moderator. Click on the picture in picture to switch to video.Open
Participants who leave a session while an application is being shared still appear on the video roster. This resets when sharing is stopped.Open
There is no error message when content being uploaded has exceeded the limit. The file appears to be doing nothing.Open
Multiple files can be added on the Share Content panel using the drag-and-drop function only. Unable to add multiple files using the Explorer.Open
When users cancel application sharing manually a message appears stating that the sharing didn't start and asks if the user would like to try again.Open
Users are allowed to upload corrupted image files. They appear as blank files.Open
If a moderator leaves a session while a Presenter is sharing content, the shared content freezes. The Presenter should refresh their browser.Open
When content is being shared some of the content is covered by the user's local video.Open
Display and Function Related
The navigation icons for ChatParticipant, and Settings appear behind open notification banners. Close the notification banner to see the icons.Open
There is a gap of 1 pixel between the video and avatar panel edge and the edge of the name bar.Open
Unable to close an open Search in the Participant panel by clicking Search icon.Open
If a user types something in chat but does not post it, the content is lost when they leave theChat panel and go to the Participants or Settings panel.Open
ChromeTM Related
In Chrome, users can still use the drag-and-drop function when the Explorer window is open.Open
In Chrome, some extensions may break the audio or the Ultra experience of Collaborate interface. Check Chrome extensions. User may need to disable extensions that interfere.Closed
Flash® Related
Flash viewers on smaller screens (13 inch) show content that is shared behind control buttons.Open
In Flash browsers, there is a missing error message when using the drag-and-drop function to upload a folder on the Share Content panel.Open
In Flash browsers, the error for file type GIF is not being displayed when using the drag-and-drop function.Open
In Flash browsers, the video doesn't use the entire preview frame when setting up video.Open
Flash browsers on Linux machines are unable to launch the Ultra experience of Collaborate. Use Chrome.Open
Internet Explorer® (IE) Related
In IE 10 and IE 11, an additional close (X) button is added in certain areas, such as chat and whiteboard text entry fields.Open
In IE 10 and IE 11, a user's local video appears in front of the Share Content contextual menu.Open
In IE 10 and IE 11, briefly after entering chat messages other participants appear as away.Open
In IE 10 and IE 11, there are white borders on shared PDF content.Open
In IE, the visual notifications are partially hidden if the user's local video is showing on the main screen. This happens when only one person is in the session.Open
Safari® Related
In older versions of Safari, there is an odd layout of video and buttons. Upgrade Safari.Open
In Safari 7, the remote video of the speaking participant covers the entire screen. The user's local video and additional participant cards are not visible. Upgrade Safari.Open
WebRTC Related
Flash browser users will see previously shared content when moderators stop sharing one application and share another.Open
When application sharing has stopped participants can see extra video screens.Open
When using Share Application to share slides from the PowerPoint application, the application sharing will freeze when switching the PowerPoint application from normal to present mode. Switch to present mode in the application before sharing or choose the Entire Screen option when sharing.Open
In Flash browsers, video occasionally appears in the wrong resolution.Open
A participant may start echoing. The user should refresh their browser to rejoin. If using headphones, the user can unplug them and plug them back in.Open
The internal or default microphones on Macs do not always work. Users should use a headset.Open
Unplugging headsets while performing audio and video set up may cause other tools to stop working. User may need to restart their computer.Open

 

ITS Help Desk

(850) 474-2075
helpdesk@uwf.edu